Lammes Candies Since 1885 Reviews
Description Lammes Candies Since 1885
Lammes Candies, now in its second century of candy making, was founded by William Wirt Lamme in 1878. Originally called the Red Front Candy Factory, the store was located in the 800 block of Congress Avenue - the main business street in Austin, Texas. Although William Lamme lost the business in a poker game in 1885, his son, David Turner Lamme, Sr., came to Austin to repay the gambling debt of $800 and reclaim the store as his own. On July 10, 1885, Lammes Candies officially opened and has been family owned and operated ever since. After a few years, the store was moved to a new location at 919 Congress Avenue where it remained until 1956.
The company's current bestseller, the world famous "Texas Chewie Pecan Praline," was first produced by David Lamme, Sr., in 1892 after seven years of recipe tasting. The ingredients are still the same: pecans, corn syrup, sugar, milk, butter, and salt. In the beginning, pecans from the trees along the Colorado River in Austin were used to produce the praline -- Lammes continues to follow this tradition today, using only Texas grown pecans. The fifth generation of the Lamme family continues the legacy of world famous confections. Lammes Candies is now a full-line candy company offering more than 1,000 items. The "Texas Chewie" boasts over 2,000 pounds produced daily.